Overview Of My First Week As A Student Teacher

I made it through the first week of preschool! My apartment looks like a tornado went through, I caught a cold from my students, I have a long to-do list, and my energy is zero..but I made it through.  Breathe. 

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

“I wiggle my fingers, I wiggle my toes, I wiggle my shoulders, I wiggle my nose. Now no more wiggles are left in me, so I can eat politely.”

I may have learned a thing or two this week at preschool. I started off the week with a teacher inservice on Monday. I got to know some of the teachers, although it’s hard being the newbie and the youngest. I suppose I won’t feel like a real teacher until I get a job.  Many of the teachers presented on various topics. Here are some of my takeaways from that:

Teachers play a critical role in developing language-rich classroom environments. Set the stage by getting down on the child’s level and listen to him/her. It’s important to match the tone of the conversation by looking at the child’s facial expression. And take turns talking.

Engage your students. I learned that engagement in the lesson might look different for each student. I think this is important to remember, especially for young children because children weren’t made to sit still and listen attentively. Preschoolers need developmentally appropriate activities to engage in.

Together everyone achieves more. Collaborative teaming among the staff means that all staff should be engaged at all times. Teachers need to share roles in the classroom and have positive interactions with each other. Adults set the tone in the classroom by their attitude, actions, and words.

girls-462072

I am in a class with 16 children. I love them all! I hold each and every one of them close to my heart and I can’t stop thinking about them even after I go home for the day. I wonder what they are doing and what home is like for them. I feel like I’ve learned so much about my students in just the three days that I’ve spent with them.

My class is very diverse in their academic skills. It’s almost overwhelming trying to figure out how to teach them the skills they need to learn. At this age, the foundation is being set. Not only academic, but social and emotional concepts as well.

I am learning some about GOLD. Oh my goodness, so much data to record. How does a teacher do it? Along with GOLD, there are portfolios and progress reports the teachers must keep. The first week was a little overwhelming and I get to help out with all of that in the coming week.

Everyday this week, I came home exhausted. Working with preschoolers just wipes the energy right out of you. Plus, my back is tired from all the bending down and playing at their level. Time for some yoga.

Friday is the teachers’ planning day. It was nice to have a day to plan the entire week. SO MANY copies, laminating, and cutting out projects for the children. Preparation is timely. We also attended a meeting for ‘Teachers Learning and Cooperating.’ I’m hoping to learn more about that next month. Friday went entirely too fast but I’m excited for everything that we have planned for next week.

Dear Lord,

Remind me that I need to always put the children’s needs first. They are Your children and they are precious. Give me the patience and guidance I need to teach them. Let us learn, play, laugh, and grow together this semester.   Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

