New Year.

If you know me personally, you know that I am a dreamer.  I desire to change the world.  I always see room for improvement, especially self-improvement. I spend a lot of time reflecting and thinking about new ideas and ways to help people and myself become better. I take the New Year more seriously than most.  To me, it feels like a chance to start over or be a new you.

This year is really important to me because it is the year that I become a teacher. I will be graduating college and entering the world of teaching, for real. It’s scary and exciting. It’s a year for growing and learning.  It’s a year that will bring joy, laughter, tears, mistakes, new knowledge, passion, and love.

These are my New Year’s Resolutions. I may fail. I may not accomplish them all perfectly. But to me, it’s the process that matters. The person that I will grow to become because I am trying something new and allowing change to take place. A change of heart and a change of mind. I will learn and mature, become more healthy and get more wisdom. That is my ultimate goal for 2016.

Read more. It’s not often anymore, that I just sit down and enjoy a good book. Reading is good for the soul. I enjoy the peace and quiet while getting lost in a book.  Read books for fun, but also read books to get smarter. You are graduating college, but the learning can’t stop there. Vow to be a lifelong learner. As a teacher, you will tell your students how important it is to read, but will you show them? Inspire them to love reading by showing them your love for reading.

shelf-791155_1920

Grow my blog. Blogging is a new passion for me. I have many. But I think blogging is a good investment-for reflection, for my passion to teach, and hopefully someday for profit.  I am new to the blogging world and have a ton to learn but so far I am having fun with the few posts that I have written. In 2016, I want to learn how to grow my blog and reach more people. I want to inspire teachers and better the education system. (I told you I like to dream big)

Become a morning person. Actually, I already am a morning person. But I want to make my mornings more meaningful. I found this article about a book called The Miracle Morning, a book I will add to ‘my list of books to read in 2016.’ The author has come up with six steps to take in the morning to energize you for your day. The morning routine consists of silence, affirmation, visualization, exercising, reading, and scribes. This is perfect for me. Silence is something that I really need to practice and the morning is the best time for it. Here is how my morning routine usually goes: alarm goes off, scroll through my phone on social media (I have even tried to convince myself that I need to do this because the light on my phone wakes me up), get up and shower, scroll through some more social media, slowly get ready for the day, eat breakfast, scurry to finish getting ready because somehow I lost track of time and now I am almost late, run out the door. I am not kidding you, this is my daily morning routine. Read more about The Miracle Morning here or join me in reading the book this year.

362facf8642b7cd308c0bda547e99b96

Practice yoga. I just tried yoga for the first time a few weeks ago, and I am in LOVE. I always thought I would hate it because it seemed so boring and how could it really benefit you? Aren’t you just standing in different poses? After finally opening my mind to the idea of yoga, I learned that there are so many different types and tons of different health benefits. This year, I want to practice yoga to become more flexible, become more energetic, and maintain my weight.

fd3770a23f9ee073d15481928eb382e9

Save money. How? I am young and married and I will be working a full time job this semester without getting paid. It’s time to get serious about budgeting.  So far, my husband and I have lived paycheck to paycheck as we have been trying to pay off bills. But this is the year that we will live frugally and simply to save ourselves from financial troubles. God willing, we will save money this year and be able to give because God will take care of us:) Also, I guess I will be adding some Dave Ramsey to my list of ‘must reads’ this year.

Spend more time with family. This is a big one for me. I really miss my family, especially my brothers, that I seem to only see on holidays now. It’s hard to live away from family, so I need to be more intentional about staying in touch and praying for them. Also, my husband and I see that we need to spend more time with our family that lives right here in the same town as us. Sunday dinners and family game nights need to become a more frequent occasion.

Give more. I know we don’t have much to give but God is faithful and He wants us to give even when we have nothing. God will make a way for us to give more to the church, to missions, and to help others. Another thing that I can give, is time. I really value my time and sometimes my ego is a little too big because I think that my time is very important. I feel like I need to be productive 100% of the day, and I don’t have time to slow down and share my time with others. But time is a gift to people and I need to slow down and give more of my time to the people I love. It is not for me or for my gain.

coffee-1076582_1920

Make Whole 30 a lifestyle. I will be starting out this year by doing the whole 30 challenge with my husband and some other family and friends. But this time, I want it to have lasting effects on my lifestyle. I completed the whole 30 a couple months ago but went back to my old eating habits once the holidays came around. I want to be healthy again! I can’t wait to start feeling better and to get back to the gym.

Pray more. Yes. I want to become a prayer warrior for my family, my friends, my students, my co-workers, my school. I want to begin my day by praying and calling on the Lord. He will lead my life day by day.

pray-664786_1280

Do a social media detox. This is one I’ve been trying to figure out for awhile. It can consume me. I have tried deleting the apps off of my phone. Sometimes I delete Facebook altogether for a time. But we live in a world so enslaved to our phones and smart devices. It’s really sad. I don’t want to be that person anymore that is sitting at the restaurant with my family glued to my phone. I see it everywhere I go. Everyone brings their own entertainment, handy in their pocket. For this, I need to take a few weeks out of this year every so often to power down. Detox my mind from the social media that can so easily get ahold of me.

This is kind of like a letter to myself, a reminder of who I want to be this year. I understand that New Year’s Resolutions aren’t as important to many other people. But I embrace change. I long for the Lord to make me new. I pray that these New Year’s Resolutions will not be for my glorification, but His!

Love, Megan

 

Leave a Reply

