5 Things I Wish I Would Have Done in College

Now that I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and my college career is almost at an end, I have been reflecting on my experience at the community college and University.  I learned a thing or two and if I could do it over again, there are some things I would have done differently. Maybe, if it’s not too late, this can help you.

I Wish…

  1. I would have started out at the University. It was really nice to take some of my general education courses at a community college because it was cheaper and probably easier. But, it was difficult being a transfer student at the University. I was past the freshman excitement of getting involved and meeting new people. So, I just went to class.
  2. I would have gotten more involved. I did find a good Christian group to surround myself with, which is very important to me. But I didn’t give my time to any groups that pertained to my major, Elementary Education. Now what am I going to put on my resume? The education groups help you get connected with schools in the area and help you with professional development. Get involved, people. You will thank me later.female-702961_1920
  3. I would have gotten to know my professors better. All of my teachers were very intentional about getting to know their students. I think that is one of the awesome things about the education program. But I am pretty private when it comes to building relationships with teachers, classmates, and co-workers.  But now I wish I would have made better connections so I could have people to go back to for career advice or a good reference.
  4. I would have saved everything. This is a big one for education majors. I turned in so many lesson plans and assignments that would be useful to have right now. I am a little disorganized. But as I am getting ready to student teach and job hunt, I need evidence that I have experience in lesson planning. Thankfully, in most of my education classes we kept a portfolio for this reason. But if I could do it over, I would have saved everything to a flash drive. I may have some things as a hardcopy, but it won’t do me much good if I need to edit it .
  5. I would have studied abroad. I thought of this one too late. My junior year I was really interested in this but I was too close to graduation. This would be a great thing to do your sophomore year. It’s a big world out there and college is a prime time to experience it. I don’t think I would have regretted living in another country for a semester.

Take the attitude of a student, never be too big to ask questions, never know too much to learn something new.                                -Og Mandino

 

Leave a comment