The Healthy Teacher: Benefits of Quitting Sugar

I didn’t even realize how much sugar I was putting into my body daily until I was challenged to quit. Do you realize the amount of food at the grocery store that has added sugar? Mostly everything processed, even the food that would seem healthy.

Start reading your food labels. You will find out if there is sugar by reading the ingredients. Sugar comes in many forms and can sometimes be hard to distinguish between all of the other ingredients we don’t know how to pronounce. Look for the ingredients that have –ose as a suffix. Ingredients like sucrose, glucose, dextrose, and fructose are just the tip of the iceberg.

  1. Clearer skin. After taking sugar out of my diet for 30 days, my back acne completely cleared up. My face is going through a slower process but it is getting there. I feel more confident in my skin.
  1. Weight Loss. Because I was doing the Whole 30 challenge, I took more than just sugar out of my diet. I am doing a second whole 30 and then I plan to add grains and dairy back into my diet, but never sugar. I know that sugar can cause you to gain weight so I guarantee if you just took sugar out of your diet, you would see weight loss results. On my Whole 30, I lost 6 pounds. It wasn’t a drastic change because I lost most of the weight in unnoticeable areas but I felt so much better about my body.
  1. Increased Energy. Wow. This might be the best benefit from taking sugar out of my diet. I have so much energy! By taking the easy access sugars out of my diet, my body had to learn to burn protein and fats which is a lot slower process, which keeps me fuller longer and energized longer.
  1. Better Sleep. My body is no longer imbalanced by sugar rushes and sugar crashes. I used to eat sweets at night if I was staying up late because my body was tired and needed energy. This would cause me to have restless sleep and I would wake up feeling tired. Today I woke up at 5:30 am without an alarm and I feel awake and alert.

The most important thing to remember: This is a process. You aren’t going to see results right away. In fact you will be miserable the first two weeks from sugar cravings and your body adjusting to your new diet. But the results are worth it.

Leave a Reply

