Thoughts Before Student Teaching

Two weeks until I start my student teaching journey and I’m kind of freaking out. I took my last final this week so now, it is time to join the real world. I will be a student teacher in a preschool class for 10 weeks and then I’ll jump to fifth grade for 10 weeks.

I’m freaking out inside because I am that kind of person that worries about every little thing before it happens. I’m starting to feel all the pressure of responsibility that this job is going to entail. I will be responsible for 20 little minds. I really want to be the best teacher. I want to build genuine relationships with my students and be somebody that they look up to, even ten years down the road. I want to be somebody’s favorite teacher. I want to make a difference in the children’s lives and help them become life-long learners. I want all my students to succeed.

I have spent the last four and a half years studying to become a teacher. And now that it is all becoming real, I am questioning if I am going to be cut out for this job. I don’t think many people realize it, but teaching is hard.

I want to share my student teaching journey. Even though I will be a teacher, I am going to be a learner and I believe my students are going to teach me more than I teach them.

Leave a Reply

